BREAKING: Makinde Follows Late Ajumobi Footstep, Re-Elected As Oyo Governor With 563,756 Votes

Spread the love

For the second time in Oyo State’s Politics, Gov Seyi Abiodun Makinde of the People’s Democratic Party has been re-elected as governor of the pacesetter.

Late Senator Isiaka Ajumobi was the first to ever got re-elected to serve as Oyo State Governor.

Announcing the result on Sunday, the State Returning Officer, Prof Adedayo Bamire, said governor Seyi Makinde, the governorship candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) won the election with 563,756 votes.

The governor also cleared majority of the local government areas out of the announced by the state’s Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday.

The governor contested against a three-term Senator, Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC), and former Deputy Governor of Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Chief Adebayo Adelabu of Accord, among other contestants.

Teslim comes a distant second in the governorship race ahead of Adebayo Adelabu of the Accord Party.

Details later…